Mount Thourion (Thurium Mons) was a conical hill in ancient Greece where a temple dedicated to the Muses may have stood [1]. The site was lost to history until February 1990, when a University of California, Berkeley archaeologist and four graduate students rediscovered the location [2]. According to Plutarch's Life of Sulla, the hill once bore a monument honoring Homoloichos and Anaxidamos, two citizens of Chaeronea [3].
Mount Thourion
| Type | Temple complex |
|---|---|
| Period | 3000 - 1500 BC |
| Country | Greece |
| Coordinates | 38.5004° N, 22.8245° E |
Greece