Eleusinion (City Eleusinion) was a sanctuary on the lower north slope of the Acropolis in Athens, dedicated to Demeter and Kore (Persephone) [1]. It served as the central hub of the Eleusinian Mysteries within Athens and the starting point for the annual sacred procession to Eleusis in northwest Attica [1]. Religious activity is attested from the 7th century BC, with construction occurring throughout the late Archaic, Classical, Hellenistic, and Roman periods [1]. After the Herulian sack of Athens in AD 267, the sanctuary was enclosed within new city walls and remained in use until the late fourth century AD [1].
Eleusinion

| Type | Temple complex |
|---|---|
| Period | 1500 - 500 BC |
| Country | Greece |
| Coordinates | 37.9738° N, 23.7246° E |
Greece