The Dolaucothi Gold Mines near Pumsaint, Carmarthenshire, are Britain's only known Roman gold mines. First extensively mined by the Romans between 70 and 80 AD, a military fort called Luentinum was established nearby around 78 AD to supply convict and prisoner labour. The Romans constructed aqueducts up to 7 miles long to manage water for ore processing, and a reverse overshot water wheel found in 1935 is now in the National Museum of Wales. Owned by the National Trust since 1941, the site is a Scheduled Ancient Monument.
Dolaucothi Gold Mines

| Type | Mine/quarry |
|---|---|
| Period | 1 - 500 AD |
| Country | Wales |
| Coordinates | 52.0449° N, 3.9497° W |
Wales