The principal sanctuary of Hera in the ancient Greek world, situated on terraces 8 km northeast of Argos between Mycenae and Midea. The site was occupied from the 3rd millennium BC, with Mycenaean tholos and chamber tombs, before becoming a major pan-Hellenic sanctuary in the 8th century BC. The Old Temple (7th century BC) was destroyed by fire in 423 BC due to the negligence of priestess Chryside. The replacement New Temple (420 BC), designed by Eupolemus of Argos as a Doric peripteros with 6x12 columns, housed Polykleitos' celebrated chryselephantine statue of Hera. The upper terrace features massive Cyclopean retaining walls echoing Mycenaean construction.
Heraion of Argos

| Type | Temple complex |
|---|---|
| Period | 1500 - 500 BC |
| Country | Greece |
| Coordinates | 37.6922° N, 22.7756° E |
Greece